The museum itself is located right in the heart of Steinberky where the original Becherovka factory has presided for 100 years. The factory, from which the famous liqueur has been transported across the world since it's creation, was built in 1867 by Jan Becher (originally written as Johann).
Jan Becher Museum attracts thousands of Becherovka fans annually. Visitors are charmed by the legacy of Becherovka and want to get a peek into its colorful, remarkable yet troubled history, unique production and secrets surrounding its famed recipe. From the times of its founder, the building of today's museum has undergone several changes. In fact, the actual process of liquer making and modernization of methods have caused the fragrant drink to seep underneath many of the houses surrounding the museum. The visitor also has the chance to see the original glass distribution of the liquer, which was connected to the dungeons. Other haunts include the stone vaults of the ceilings within the dungeons, where one can discover old barrels and the curves form of old glass bottles with yellowing paper labels.